Entry #4 – Cover

Entry #4 – Cover:  I know they say “don’t judge a book by its cover,” but sometimes you can’t help it!  Share a favorite.

Ok, so this topic sounded easy…but turns out I don’t actually have a favorite cover!  I perused my bookshelves, Kindle, and internet images until I created a collection of covers I was drawn to (I have read all of these books and own five of them).  Here’s what I came up with:

favcovers1Pink seems to be a common thread among these covers, as does a young woman gazing off to the side!  Is it bad that I’m drawn to pretty, girly images?  Of course not.  A lot of thought has gone into each of these covers.  Designers, photographers, artists, and authors have worked together to create an image that will hook the right reader.  Does my taste in covers mean I’m predictable and conform to the stereotypes that publishers are counting on?  Maybe!  But I’m not too worried about it.  I’m being honest about what I like, and I do give other books a fair chance.  Not every book on my shelf is a beauty!

If you’re interested in learning more about book covers, I highly recommend checking out Kate Hart’s infographics based on Young Adult book covers.  She examines the colors, images, and diversity in covers and presents the information in easy to understand graphics.  http://www.katehart.net/2012/05/uncovering-ya-covers-2011.html

Leave a Reply

