NaNoWriMo: A Roller Coaster of Emotions

nanowrimodayone

This year I decided to take part in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) for the first time.  A student told me about NaNoWriMo last year, but I just didn’t have the time or energy to participate.  This year is a different story though, and I’m excited to take on the challenge of writing 50,000 words in one month.  Excited…nervous…anxious…panicky…and it’s only the first day!  I can already tell this experience will be an emotional roller coaster!

As October 31 rolled into November 1, I earnestly began typing the first chapter of my story.  An hour and ten minutes and 1,087 words later, I called it a night.  During the late afternoon of November 1, I had time again to write and was able to sneak past the first day’s word count.

I feel like I accomplished something special today, but I’m worried that I won’t be able to keep up the same pace throughout the month.  What if I get writer’s block?  What if my plot seems to go nowhere?  What if I don’t have time to write every day?  The only thing I can do is keep moving forward and try my best.

Good luck to everyone else who is participating in NaNoWriMo. I’m thrilled to be a part of the ride!

Leave a Reply

