NaNoWriMoWin…ner

nanowrimowin2

After some catching up last weekend, I was right on track to finish by November 30th.  Only problem was, I was going home to visit my family for Thanksgiving—it would be rude to tell my family I couldn’t spend time with them and seclude myself somewhere with my laptop.  I had ideas of grandeur that I would finish writing in the two and half hour car ride to my parents’ house, but instead I spent most of the time singing along to the great 90s music station my husband found.  Who can focus on writing with great music like TLC’s “Waterfalls,” Spin Doctors’ “Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong,” and Savage Garden’s “Cherry Cola”?!

With only 2,000 words left to write, I was able to balance family time with a bit of writing in the evenings and achieved my 50,000 word goal by Friday, November 29th.  It was exhilarating to know that I had accomplished my goal—a goal that felt so far out of reach in week three.

My story isn’t finished yet, so I plan to keep writing and finish the rough draft before moving on to any revising and editing.  My novel has taken a strange turn at the end that I’m not sure I like, but I didn’t want to delete it and risk not getting to the final word count.

I’ve really enjoyed checking out all the blog posts on WordPress with references to NaNoWriMo.  It was fun to be part of a community and take on a challenge together.  Plus, it was a great way to procrastinate while writing!  Congratulations to everyone else who took part in NaNoWriMo. 

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMoWin…ner

  1. Wheee- that’s so exciting. Congrats! 😀

  2. Pingback: Phew, Finally Finished | Love 2 Read 365

Leave a Reply

