Entry #11 – Literary boyfriend:

booklove1

Entry #11 – Literary boyfriend:  Oh, _____? That’s just my literary significant other. All the cool kids have one. Share which character has stolen your heart!

I’ve read many books in my twenty-eight years of existence, so there have been many a character that has made my heart swoon—from Edward Cullen of Twilight (before the movie came out, anyway!), to John Tyree from Nicholas Sparks’ novel Dear John, and the motorcycle-riding bad boy Mark from Liz Berry’s The China Garden

But my most recent literary crush would have to be Four from Veronica Roth’s Divergent series.  If you have to ask why Four is crush-worthy, than you probably haven’t experienced Divergent or Insurgent yet (*I still need to read Allegiant, so no spoilers please!).  It was clear from the beginning that Tris and Four were meant for each other.  He watches out for her and keeps her safe, even when she doesn’t realize it.  He gives Tris her space and recognizes that she needs her own friends and a chance to prove herself.  His quiet but strong demeanor draws Tris, and readers, to him.  He’s a leader, but leads more by example than by force.  He’s logical and does what needs to be done, but he has a heart and can be gentle too.  This balance of strength and composure make him seem like a great boyfriend.       

I’ve seen the trailers for the Divergent film and I’m a little worried about the actors chosen to play Tris and Four.  They aren’t quite what I pictured, but I’m hopeful that the film will do the books justice.  I’d love to hear who your literary crushes are.  Post below if you’re willing to share.

meandfour

Other notable literary crushes:

  • Alexander from The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons
  • Po from Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  • Brigan from Fire by Kristin Cashore

 

*I know, I know, I said I would read it a long time ago, but long story short, someone tried to use my credit card at a bunch of places.  That means I couldn’t order the book through Amazon and then I had to wait for a replacement card and I just haven’t hooked up my new credit card to the account yet.  I’ll read Allegiant soon, I promise.  

3 thoughts on “Entry #11 – Literary boyfriend:

  1. Pingback: Love 2 Read 365 | No Love for Allegiant

  2. Pingback: Current Read: Four | Love 2 Read 365

  3. Pingback: A Second Look at Allegiant | Love 2 Read 365

Leave a Reply

