Entry #18 – Literary Best Friend:

bookbesties

Entry #18 – Literary best friend:  If you could choose any character for a bestie, who would it be? Feel free to expand on why – share a relevant quote, list attributes, whatever floats your boat. Or just give a name, it’s entirely up to you!

At my bachelorette party three years ago, my sister told me my friends were weird.  Not in the sense that they were strange people, but in the sense that this group of girls wouldn’t typically hang out together.  I’ve always had an eclectic group of friends—sort of like a different group of friends for the different activities that I enjoy.  There were my high school friends for doing crazy things like dressing up one another in goofy outfits at Walmart, there were my quiet college roommates who enjoyed watching Grey’s Anatomy every Thursday night, and there were my dance team friends who were always up for a good time and loved dancing just as much as I did.  I could shift between these groups of friends and do all the things I wanted to do.  So when it comes to choosing a best friend from a book, I came up with an eclectic group of characters.

Here are some characters I’ve picked as possible besties, and the qualities I admire them for:

  • Katniss, Katsa, Tris, Cassia: brave, strong, adventurous, rebellious, risk takers
  • Nancy Drew: logical, intelligent…and drives a cool convertible!
  • Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants girls: accept & celebrate one another’s differences
  • Harry, Ron, Hermione from Harry Potter: brave, adventurous, rebellious, magical, loyal
  • Ponyboy & Cherry from The Outsiders: honest, loyal to their friends
  • Benvolio from Romeo & Juliet: good listener, thoughtful decision maker (unlike that Romeo guy!)
  • Bitterblue from Bitterblue: homebody who craves adventure, learns to be a better leader
  • Mia Thermopolis from The Princess Diaries: relatable, normal teen girl (klutzy & awkward like me!)

Who would you choose as a literary best friend? 

Leave a Reply

