Reading Reflections

readingreflections

I may be reading less than before baby arrived, but I’m glad I can still find time to read (what else would I do during a 4am feeding?!). Thanks to my Kindle Fire, I’m able to keep reading. Have I mentioned how much I love my Kindle Fire? Baby occupies one arm while eating, so I can hold my Kindle in the opposite hand. It’s so much easier to scroll rather than having to hold a printed book and turn pages one-handed. My husband bought me a hardcover book for Valentine’s Day- thoughtful- but I haven’t figured out how I’m going to hold the book and baby at the same time! Instead, I’ve been devouring Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander novels lately.

Back in January, I set a much more reasonable goal for my 2015 Goodreads challenge. I read 50 books last year, and I know there’s no way I can do that this year (unless I count all the little board books and children’s books I read with my sweet baby – but that seems like cheating!). My goal is to read 30 books. We’ll see how that goes! So far, I’m on track, and completing those Outlander books is no small feat.

What I’m Currently Reading:
Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon (Outlander #4)

  • I really loved the previous novel in the Outlander series, Voyager, but this one feels a little slower to me. I’m hoping the action and intrigue will pick up soon. The characters in these novels are so wonderfully formed. I love the historical fiction mixed with tastefully-written time travel. I was skeptical when I finally decided to start reading Outlander, but I love the saga of Claire and Jamie and I look forward to reading the entire eight book series.

What Baby is Currently Reading:
Giraffes Can’t Dance by Giles Andreae, Illustrations by Guy Parker-Rees

  • We love the sing-song rhythm of Giraffes Can’t Dance and the adorable story about a gawky giraffe named Gerald. Poor Gerald gets laughed at by the other jungle animals because of his inability to dance. A cricket gives him the advice “Sometimes when you’re different you just need a different song.” Gerald finds that he can dance in his own way. The illustrations are colorful and lively. We read this book just about every day!

What are you reading right now? Has anyone else read the Outlander novels? What did you think of them?

3 thoughts on “Reading Reflections

  1. I have heard the rav of both the books and movie series for Outlander but I have yet to venture in that direction. I may travel there soon because the look like the historical stuff I like. I am not reading any series now just random books from my kindle pile. I never thought I woul love that device for reading but I get you I do appreciate it so much.

  2. Pingback: The Coffee Book Tag |

  3. Pingback: 31 Favorite Books to Celebrate my 31st Birthday |

Leave a Reply

