Phew, Finally Finished

phewfinallyfinished

In November of 2013, I participated in NaNoWriMo, which stands for National Novel Writing Month. Participants pledge to write 50,000 words in one month. It’s an awesome challenge and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I was so proud of myself for completing the word count goal. (Read about my experience here.)

Only problem was, November was over and I had reached 50,000 words, but my story wasn’t finished. I had a beginning and a whole lot of middle, but no ending! Without the accountability of NaNoWriMo, I didn’t have the motivation to continue writing. And to be honest, I wasn’t too sure about how my novel was supposed to end, anyhow. I would add little bits and pieces here and there, but the conclusion always seemed out of reach.

Recently, I decided that I was going to do it. I was going to finish my novel. So guess what? I did! I typed out the ending on my iPad mini (one finger typing, no less!) all while nursing my baby. For some reason, it all came together and three pages later, I had an ending. Final word count: 61,113 words. It feels really good to have given my characters and plot a resolution. Is this book going to make me rich?! Of course not (much to my husband’s dismay!), but I completed a goal, and that’s gotta count for something, right?

Now, if only I could manage to get it edited and printed…

4 thoughts on “Phew, Finally Finished

  1. Wow! That’s quite the accomplishment!!! I can’t wait to read it.

  2. what is your next step now? congrats on finishing the story!!

    • Thanks. I read through the whole story once to make sure it made sense and that my timeline was correct. My main character needed a better reason for some of the choices she made, so I added a little motivation to help support those choices. Now I’m going through it again to look for spelling, grammar, and usage errors.

Leave a Reply

