Next November

imageMonth long challenges are a great way to test yourself and see what you’re made of. I’ve enjoyed participating in NaBloPoMo, and I’m already looking ahead to next November. I’m wondering if I should participate in National Blog Posting Month again, or try out one of these other challenges.

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo): write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.

I’m always tempted by this one, but I already completed this challenge in 2013, and I probably won’t have the time for this one for several years.

National Nonfiction Writing Month or Write Nonfiction in November: a challenge to complete a nonfiction writing piece in November. It could be an article, an essay, a book, a memoir, whatever – and there’s NO word count. This blog is the place to learn more.

A memoir sounds like a cool thing to tackle. I kept a journal (4 spiral notebooks) during college, which could really come in handy. Maybe there are some words of wisdom I can pass on to my daughter!

Nonfiction November: this challenge, co-hosted by several blogs, encourages people to read in November, and more specifically, to read nonfiction. The hosts blog about what they are reading, hold discussions, and offer questions for reflection. This is one of the blogs that hosts the challenge.

I’m interested in this one because I’d like to try reading more nonfiction. It’s not what I typically gravitate towards, but I know I’m missing out on some awesome books and learning opportunities.

Picture Book Idea Month (PiBoIdMo): this challenge asks you to jot down one picture book concept daily. At the end of the month, you’ll have 30 ideas for creating stories you can work on later. Official sign up at this website.

I like the sound of this one because you’re not actually writing stories, it’s just little ideas or beginnings of concepts. Now that I’m reading so many children’s books with my little one, I’ve got an interest in writing a children’s book myself.

30 days of Thanks: there are several ways to participate, but you either write a blog post, Facebook post, take photos, or journal about something you’re thankful for each day in November.

Planksgiving: a fitness challenge where you plank for longer and longer amounts of time as the month goes on.

Not a reading or writing challenge, but it doesn’t take up much time and would be a simple way to make fitness part of my daily routine.

  • Other Ideas: In case I’m looking for a year-round challenge or a challenge to complete in a month other than November, here’s a big list of timed artistic challenges.

Which challenges caught your interest? Or, have you participated in any of these already? Words of advice?

4 thoughts on “Next November

  1. Wow I didn’t even know about half of these! Thank you for sharing! I think I might try something different next November 🙂

  2. I hope you’re able to join us next year for Nonfiction November! Thanks for sharing the event 🙂 I missed NaBloPoMo this month, but I’ll have to keep an eye out for it next year!

  3. Pingback: To NaBloPoMo or No? |

Leave a Reply

