Current Read: Yes Please

imageI’ve read fifty books so far this year and they all had one thing in common: they were works of fiction. This week’s book, however, breaks the mold. Yes Please by Amy Poehler is my one and only nonfiction title this year.

Goodreads Book Blurb:

In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious. Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book full of words to live by.

I enjoyed Poehler on SNL and I think she’s really smart and funny, but this book is a little disappointing. As I read Yes Please on my Kindle Fire, I highlighted some lines I thought were funny. I was going to quote them here for you to show how smart and funny Poehler is, but when I went back to re-read them, they weren’t really that great. The book in general is not all that humorous, but if it wasn’t meant to be, then what was the goal of this book? She whines a lot about how hard it is to write a book and her stories (chapters?) often go in strange directions that leave me wondering what the lesson or the point of it all was. What am I supposed to get out of it?image

Poehler tells a little about growing up in a normal loving family where she had to create her own drama, learning about comedy in Chicago, honing her craft in New York, memories from her days at SNL, being pregnant and giving birth, hints at divorcing Will Arnett, includes tons of name dropping, and drug use. Yes, drugs. Poehler throws it in so casually (and frequently), as if it’s no big deal. I was rather surprised by it and it didn’t sit well with me. Maybe she lives in a world where recreational drug use is common, but that’s not true for my world.

There were some funny lines and anecdotes scattered throughout the book, but I preferred Tina Fey’s Bossypants to Poehler’s book, hands down. In all, it didn’t feel like Poehler wanted to write this book, so it felt forced and perhaps published before it was ready. It lacked some of the lightness, quirkiness, and exuberance I associate with Poehler. Ho hum. Maybe next year I’ll find a nonfiction book I like better!

Have you read Yes Please? What did you think of it?

2 thoughts on “Current Read: Yes Please

  1. I have not read it, but I am thinking about picking it up!

    • Unless you’re a really big Amy Poehler fan, I would recommend Tina Fey’s Bossypants or Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging out Without Me? over Yes Please. I found them much more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

