Current Read: The Alchemyst

imageFor this week’s current read, I am back to Young Adult fiction with The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Book 1) by Michael Scott. I didn’t know much about this book going in. I just knew that I’d been intrigued by the cover when I had seen the series in stores or online, that the name Nicholas Flamel was mentioned in Harry Potter, and that alchemy was the notion of turning metal into gold. Needless to say, I was intrigued! Are you?

Goodreads Book Blurb:
He holds the secret that can end the world.

The truth: Nicholas Flamel was born in Paris on September 28, 1330. Nearly 700 years later, he is acknowledged as the greatest Alchemyst of his day. It is said that he discovered the secret of eternal life.

The records show that he died in 1418.

But his tomb is empty.

The legend: Nicholas Flamel lives. But only because he has been making the elixir of life for centuries. The secret of eternal life is hidden within the book he protects—the Book of Abraham the Mage. It’s the most powerful book that has ever existed. In the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. That’s exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it. Humankind won’t know what’s happening until it’s too late. And if the prophecy is right, Sophie and Josh Newman are the only ones with the power to save the world as we know it.

Sometimes legends are true.image

And Sophie and Josh Newman are about to find themselves in the middle of the greatest legend of all time.

I haven’t wanted to spoil the ending of this book by researching the series, so I’m not sure what the titles of the other books are, or even how many books are in the series. All that I know is that the adventure doesn’t end with this book! That being said, I’m not sure that I will read the rest of the series. I’m not hooked by the concept or characters like I was with Divergent, Under the Never Sky, or Shattered (to name a few exciting trilogies). It feels like the book is geared for a younger audience, though I can’t quite put my finger on my reasoning for this. The book is complex in its references to legends, mythology, and historical events. It’s also dark at times and has a feeling of danger. But two of the book’s main characters, twins Josh and Sophie, feel young and naive. Unlike world-weary Katniss and adrenaline-junkie Tris, Josh and Sophie are regular teens who are just working normal jobs at a bookstore and coffee shop in order to buy a car. They get caught up in strange events that turn their world upside-down, but they remain wide-eyed through it all. Or, at least, until chapter 24, which is as far as I’ve gotten! I’ll definitely finish this first book, but I’m probably not jumping on the series bandwagon with this one.

It will be a busy week full of gift-wrapping, cookie baking, and to-grandmother’s-house-we-going, so this could possibly be the last book I finish in 2015. What book are you wrapping up the year with?

Leave a Reply

