Current Read: I’ll Give You The Sun

imageFinally! Here’s a book I’m really excited to share with you: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. It’s Young Adult fiction and pretty spectacular. Despite the fact that the book has several ridiculous coincidences, talking ghosts, and a cliche British bad boy, this book still manages to feel real and honest.

Goodreads Book Blurb:

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.image

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

For me, the realness and honesty comes from the fact that our main characters and narrators, Jude and Noah, are dealing with true dilemmas: What does it mean to be that girl? Is it rape if I never said no? How do I handle guilt and grief? How do you continue on when you lose someone you love, but you didn’t have a chance to say goodbye? Will my family and friends still love me if I’m gay? Am I special or just weird? What if my parents get a divorce? Do my parents love my sibling more than me? These are relatable issues that teens (and even adults) can empathize with and learn from. This is exactly the kind of book today’s youth needs.

Jude and Noah were very real to me. They were more than words on a page. While at first I was drawn to Noah, Jude quickly won me over once I found out more of her story. The long chapters alternated between Jude and Noah’s point of view, and also from different ages. This allowed the author to reveal the different things each twin knew (or didn’t know) at the time. I found Nelson’s writing easy to read. It had moments of poignancy – like when you find out how the title of the book comes into play – as well as humor, suspense, and even a little romance. I highly recommend this novel and am looking forward to reading more works by Jandy Nelson in the future.

What are you currently reading?

6 thoughts on “Current Read: I’ll Give You The Sun

  1. I’m glad you liked this book. I just recently added it to my TBR, and I’m excited to get around to it.

    As to your question: I’m currently reading “The Rest of Us Just Live Here” by Patrick Ness, “Scarlet” by Marissa Meyer, and “Outlander” by Diana Gabaldon ^_^

    • Great choices! How do you like The Rest of Us Just Live Here? I read Ness’s Knife of Never Letting Go series (and loved it) but I haven’t read any of his other books.

      • I am loving it. I think the audiobook portion might be what makes it so enjoyable for me. This is actually my first Ness book, so I might just have to venture out into the others soon.

  2. Pingback: I’ll Give You the Sun: A Dream Cast |

  3. Pingback: The Coffee Book Tag |

  4. Pingback: 10 Posts I Wish Had More Views

Leave a Reply

