Virtually Visiting Libraries

I love libraries. I consider myself lucky to have four libraries less than fifteen minutes from my house. Each one is unique and offers up something different. Whether it’s programming, layout, architecture, the children’s section, a playground, or materials offered, I love how each library has its own character.

I like visiting new libraries and seeing what they look like inside. That’s why I had to bookmark this page of virtual library tours I came across last year. These video tours showcase the Library of Parliament in Ottawa, Canada; the Mansueto Library at the University of Chicago; the New York Public Library; the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C; the Bodleian Library at the University of Oxford; and the Seattle Public Library. 

From that list, I have only visited the Library of Congress. I was able to tour the building during my 8th grade trip to the capitol – which would have been the summer of 2000, so that was 21 years ago! I remember being impressed by the massive building and amazed at how fancy it felt. 

The Bodleian Library may look familiar, even if you haven’t visited Oxford (I certainly haven’t!) because it’s the Hogwarts library in the Harry Potter films and appears in the television series A Discovery of Witches, based on the All Souls series by Deborah Harkness. The Bodleian Library is over 400 years old! 

Have you visited any of these stunning libraries?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.